Late to the Party

Forgive me for being a bit late to the party, but this Miss Manners Response about blood glucose testing is just too ridiculous not to comment on…

Being from the east coast, I grew up with an acute awareness of all things polite and proper, Emily Post was a regularly referenced source of truth, and ballroom dancing and etiquette classes were compulsory. So you can imagine my surprise when I found out that Miss Manners believes that all aspects of blood glucose testing should be relegated to the bathroom, while mothers breastfeeding ought to just be considerate of others while in public places. I understand that some people don’t like blood, but I don’t like it when people sneeze, does that mean that everyone should go to the bathroom to sneeze? Not to mention that if I am flying (as the inquirer says he does frequently), I am going to test wherever I want because my life depends on it. I know I’m new at this, but my basic understanding is that this is a life threatening disease; I can take care of myself and be careful, but I will always be in some danger. Given that fact, if I am seated in an airplane, I am not going to wait until the seat belt sign is off, the aisle is clear, and anyone between me and the aisle is ready to let me out… if I feel that I need to test my blood sugar, that is what I am going to do. If you don’t like it, look away, and in turn I won’t tell anyone that I saw you picking your nose… #fairtrade

**Update: Response from Miss Manners and her son with t1d

Leave a Reply

